Tags

First Friday Sale Items by The Knitting Mama Bear

I am sure everyone will be a bit patient with me for not blogging for a bit, but as you can see from the photo, I have been a bit busy.  I have been preparing my the fiber arts for The Sunrise Soap Company’sFirst Friday.

If truth be known, I have been a combination of excited and frightened to death while I prepare for this event.  I often wondered if my designs and art was good enough.  And then I started to wonder if I were good enough.  I decided to take a huge breath and just step out in faith and turn my creations into the store as is.

I created my tags where I used my logo for “The Knitting Mama Bear” and labeled each bag’s tag with what they were and hand wrote what each is made of.

I submitted only one of the “Mega Bags”.  This one is large and sturdy enough to hold laundry or a few books and be carried over your shoulder.  The cable stitch was a lot of fun to add.  It also adds a bit of stability to the bag’s mesh work.

The “Market Bags” were the most fun to knit.  I submitted four in beautifully bright colors.  They are quite sturdy and hold a great deal due to the mesh work.

I only turned in three “Mini Bags” in different styles and fun colors.  The multi- pink one has a match in the other sizes as well.  The other two have a fun cable stitch pattern.  Each is made to hold several of the soaps made in the shop as well as a shower puff and has a long handle to hang in the shower.

The “Soap Sweaters” were an impulsive item that I wanted to try.  Each holds a soap from the shop and has a little loop for hanging.  The pattern on one side feels great on the skin and it is a great way to hold the last bits of your favorite soaps.

So, these are the creations that I took to the store for bright and early Friday Morning.  When I walked in and opened the bag with the work, I was shocked to hear the thrilled gasps from those in the store.  The owner and another artist reached for the bags and started trying them out.  Needless to say, I was quite thrilled.  Still nervous, but happy that someone else liked my work.  As I left the story, I was excited to see what she would do with my work and how they would sell in the store that night.

As I walked downtown, I tried not to think about the fact that my work was in a store for all to see.  I tried my best not to think of people looking at my work and saying that it is not beautiful.  But I continued to walk with the purpose of not looking for my work, but enjoying this First Friday.

As I rounded the corner, I glanced into the window and saw one of my creations hanging in a place of honor in the window for the world to see.  I felt suddenly proud and nauseous at the same time.  I wanted to go in and see where they were placed, but I could not bring myself to do it.  The store was crowded and people were happily shopping and enjoying the night.

The Baby Bears, and the Papa bear wanted to go in to see how and where things were displayed.  While I was feeling a bit faint and sick with worry and doubt, they were swelling with pride.  So, I walked around the corner  with Dec-Bear to another store while the rest of the family walked into The Sunrise Soap Company.

This is the beauty that they found.  I am proud and giddy about how they look and the buzz about the art.  But most importantly, I am so excited that my work is being seen.

